PLEASING AND DISPLEASING ALLAH

 

05b52a9be30bfe36daa3b87d70c601ae

Asalaam Aleykum Veterans,

Yes I am still around, I have had busy-ness and a little bit of lazy in mixed in my schedule lately, ok maybe a lot of lazy and a little bit of busy. Forgive me.

I have had something on my chest for a while, no not my t-shirts, it’s a bit heavier and on the internal side. That is, I am afraid I keep displeasing Allah and in a rare moment of vulnerability I am going to open up and say… I am scared shitless but then I keep displeasing Allah. Does it make me a hypocrite? Maybe/ probably, (personal opinion), does it mean I am doomed? No, (Again, personal opinion).

I think all Muslims struggle with this issue a sad fact we all deal with and that is; we have all  done things that displease Allah A.K.A  SINS and no matter how many times we sincerely repent we still continue to do sins. If we are still alive by next week we will do something to displease Allah.

9966101

It is frustrating… I know, despite trying so hard sometimes and still failing over and over again. Ok ok, enough with the depressing stuff, you know I must be telling you this stuff for a reason, so go on then spill the beans, what to do?

I actually have no idea… I was hoping you guys could let me know, seriously in the comment section. Let me know how you deal with it.

In the meantime I have a theory I am working on, (I know I said I had no idea just two lines ago, but this is just a theo.. let’s not get into the technicalities of what an idea is and what it’s not and…) Khemmm the theory is; Instead of focusing on when we displease Allah, we should focus on when we please Allah, focus on doing more good for the sake of Allah, being sincere and asking Allah to accept our good deeds and to guide us.

Did you know that good deeds erase bad deeds?

 Whaaaaatttt???  Shut the front door!

Quran 11:114

And establish prayer at the two ends of the day and at the approach of the night. Indeed, good deeds do away with misdeeds. That is a reminder for those who remember”

This is one of the best news in the Quran (personally speaking) well the Quran is about warnings and glad tidings and this is one awesome glad tiding for me. Mostly because when I think back to all the sins I have done and the realization that I will probably do more, I feel helpless and it can be depressing.  So for a long time I kept asking myself what can I do about it, what do I really have control over? (I thought dying sooner would stop the accumulation of bad deeds to my scale, I thought it over and it was discussed but I was overruled). So I remembered this verse and Ta daaaa here we be. I say I remembered this verse because the first time I read it I thought hmmm that’s interesting to know, but it didn’t occur to me as a solution for this problem. Another reason why reading the Quran should be like a hobby, because trying to finish it once like a task is not doing justice to the Quran or ourselves.

And as for doing good deeds, even smiling at someone is a good deed and I hope this post might be one of them. May Allah accept our good deeds and erase all our bad deeds.

I think the three major takeaways here are:

  • Don’t lose hope or kill yourself for your bad deeds, regret them yes, repent, yes. But don’t let them bring you down to the point of giving up.
  • Do as many good deeds as possible with the intention of pleasing Allah and erasing your bad deeds, plus adding on good deeds to your scale
  • This struggle between good and bad deeds is the whole purpose of life, it is the test.

You don’t believe me??  Ohh you don’t believe me… ok, ok.. here:

Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) said: “I swear by Him in whose hand is my soul, if you were a people who did not commit sin, Allah would take you away and replace you with a people who would sin and then seek Allah’s forgiveness so He could forgive them.” [Sahīh Muslim (2687)]

e838b6e6c338063fb84e121cb453015dd3d8b5749efd82491bf7487c7c1a21d1

That’s all for now,

Love you all for the sake of Allah

  • Abd
6 thoughts on “PLEASING AND DISPLEASING ALLAH

  1. I like your theory, good deeds certainly erase bad deeds and I think keeping this in mind will help us be more consistent in doing good deeds insha’Allah, sort of like an incentive. ☺

    Also in a hadith the Prophet (saws) said, “Remember more often the destroyer of pleasures – death.” (At-Tirmizi) I think the reason we sin over and over again is because of our selfish motives so remembering death makes us  realize how insignificant and fleeting worldly pleasures are compared to the Hereafter which is everlasting, and that our real purpose in life is worship. May Allah سبحانه و تعالى keep us steadfast on His Deen, forgive all our sins and grant us the ability to do good deeds always, Ameen. Jazak Allah khair!

  2. Oh my goodness, I’ve been away for far too long.
    It’s posts like this one that keep me inspired. Says me, the 47 year old grandma.
    I totally love the fact that there are youngins out here who have the power to inspire us.
    Keep up the good work. You are definitely on the right path.
    I know, I really didn’t add much to the “conversation”, did I.
    Ok, how about associating yourself with people who share the same goals. That right there is such a significant factor in this process. It’s always harder to be inspired to reach certain goals when you’re around people who don’t share your morals or beliefs.
    Trust me, you will definitely thank me later 😉

  3. Your theory is great. It’s optimistic and uplifting. Sometimes we tend to overwhelm ourselves with negative thoughts. And breaking from that can be hard. But it’s not impossible. Nothing is impossible with Allah by our sides. As for dying earlier, I remember, as a child, my mother saying that children who die before puberty go straight to jannah. After that, I always would fantasize of dying in various heroic scenes. Don’t judge.

Leave your thoughts

