DAY 1 : 5 Picture 5 Stories challenge

a-mc-random-21

Asalaam Aleykum Homosapiens,

I see you continue to roam this earth by Allah’s grace, ok first off, that’s not me typing as the dog in the picture. Second, read that line again….I’ll wait…. Why? because reasons… hahaha, seriously though, I have been putting off starting this challenge for so long because I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to complete it or write anything worth reading, but heck, it wouldn’t be the first time I wrote something not worth reading, but people read it anyway, thank you all for your generous support.

I figure at some point I should address the elephant in the room, kheemm! I mean the dog in the picture, well…it all began when I was born, fast forward to today I found it when I googled random pictures…ta daaaa… the End. 5 days 5 pictures challenge, you guys have now arrived at random central. If you are looking for a point up until this point, I applaud you, there is no point. But let’s assume for arguments sake that there is, let me indulge you for a minute, so what do we have here, a picture of a dog looking into a camera and it’s written “watcha doin?”.

Ok, so what are we doing? really? Like right now in our lives, what are we doing and why? Do we actually know what we are doing?. It’s pretty easy to fall into routine and mistake being busy with being productive, or mistake urgency for importance. We live in a hectic world, if your feet aren’t planted firmly into the ground, the next wave will sweep you off and if your philosophical skills can turn a picture of a dog into a discussion about the purpose of life, well, still doesn’t mean much. hahaha. Okayyy So I will stop here. If you got this far inna lillahi wa inallah-e-raji’oon,

Thank you for your time, and see you tomorrow InshaAllah.

Love you all for the sake of Allah

-ABD

8 thoughts on “DAY 1 : 5 Picture 5 Stories challenge

  1. Wa’alaikumussalaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu brother

    I think none of your posts are “not worth reading” and that’s why people read. You write well Masha’Allah and you always have a point. But I’m not sure I fully understand this post. What according to you is the elephant is the room? I’m confused. :/ And contemplating the purpose of lifeΒ  means so much. Just about anything can remind you of the Hereafter and Judgment. Even a dog’s picture. Allah says in the Quran that there are signs everywhere and in everything for those who understand.
    Ohh hold on, I think I understand; you’re trying to say that just thinking about the purpose of life and not “doing” anything about it doesn’t mean much? And that’s the elephant in the room which must be addressed. Hence the title “Watcha doin'”, emphasis on the “doing”. Now that makes sense. It took long, but better late than never. πŸ™‚

    See? There’s always a point. I’m glad I was able to grasp something haha. Jazak Allah khair.
    P.S. the challenge is called five stories five photos… doesn’t really matter as long as we get to read more stuff from you.
    Also, I believe as Muslims everything we do should be for the sake of Allah. Because if we don’t perform well or even happen to fail, Allah will still reward us for our efforts. But the moment we think about getting people’s approval we start losing track and it becomes difficult to come back. This reminder is first and foremost for myself as I’ve been there. Thinking about failing in the eyes of people is futile. Sorry for rambling. Haha…looking forward to your other posts insha’Allah.

    • Wooww, I didn’t think through that post much but you still got a point from it, I was just writing whatever came to my mind at that point. Anyway thanks for the reminder and jazak Allah khair for commenting.

  2. And that is why Ramadan is on it’s heroic way. To keep us in track. To refresh us of our routines and help us focus on or back to our Main Goal in this Dunya, the Akhira. JazakAllah khair!

Leave your thoughts

