FEAR ALLAH

493893

        Everything good and sustainable starts with the Fear of Allah. Keywords in this statement are “Good and Sustainable”. Well, I think I will start with the genesis of this idea or thought; I am usually worried (as I believe most people are) about sustaining the good things I do. I mean, as humans we forget, we forget to be kind to others sometimes, we say things we might not mean at times, our faith isn’t constantly rising, it even sinks sometimes.

       So I think it’s a justified to be worried about it. We don’t know the future, we don’t know what will happen, what type of situations we will be in and what type of options we will have. So how do we get prepared for that? So that we don’t end up making decisions that we will regret later on?

Of course you read the title so you know where I am going with this, and yeah its actually that obvious. The only way to be certain that you will not make decisions now or in the future that you might regret is by Fearing Allah.

Fearing Allah might sound abstract sometimes, I mean we would assume every Muslim Fears Allah, and intellectually that would be true, by just thinking about it, Allah’s Greatness and Might, its logical to Fear Allah, but its usually not in our Hearts.

And I don’t think it ever starts there, I think that’s the challenge, to work to get the Fear of Allah from our Minds to our Hearts, because its usually only when our Hearts truly want something or feel something that we act according to it.

Which leads to another question, how do we put the Fear of Allah in our hearts?

 Mmmhhhh….tough one

Me: we could…

Myself: no

Me: or…

Myself: that would never work

Me: then…

Myself: I’m not really sure if that’s legal

Me: A HA! It’s the Quran

Myself: it’s the Quran.

Allah (SWT) says in the Quran:

Surat Yūnus 10:57

O mankind! There has come to you a good advice from your Lord (i.e. the Quran, ordering all that is good and forbidding all that is evil), and a healing for that (disease of ignorance, doubt, hypocrisy and differences, etc.) in your breasts, – a guidance and a mercy (explaining lawful and unlawful things, etc.) for the believers.”

  For those who don’t know, “in your breasts” = your heart. 🙂

    I believe that one of the diseases in the heart, probably the worst one, the most potent, which can lead to hypocrisy is the fear of anything else other than Allah.

Be it fear of the future, the past, society expectations, parents, a person, “evil”, magic, la la la, yadi yadi yada…the list goes on. If we don’t fear Allah, we will end up fearing almost everything else, but when we Fear Allah, we realize there is nothing left to Fear.

And a verse that I love in the Quran, which was the reason I wrote this post. Huge wake up call and boost of faith for all those who want to be successful in life, whatever that maybe, is this

Surah Al- Ma’idah 5:100 

“Say, “Not equal are the evil and the good, although the abundance of evil might impress you.” So fear Allah , O you of understanding, that you may be successful.”

The Ayah really speaks for itself, there isn’t much to break down, evil and good aren’t equal, there is a lot of evil going on, don’t let that “impress you” or fool you, thinking its ok, or “normal”. Fear Allah, since you understand so that you may be successful.

Defining success, is something I will put up in one of the following posts, as well as prepping for the coming Ramadan!!!!!!…..Yaaaaayyyyy

     But the drift of all this, if you happen not to catch it, is that when we start practicing to  do things for the sake of Allah and out of Fear of Allah, we will do them with more consistency and more willingly, even if we slip and fall here and there we will never lose our way, and read any success story and tell me that’s not how it happened. No one gets it perfect, in one shot, or two, or three…or…yea but we fail forward and never lose hope in Allah’s Mercy that’s how to be successful.

     Homework: Try to help someone for the Sake of Allah, just regardless of what they might think or say, grateful for it or not, is irrelevant, because the only one who you want to impress with that deed is the only one who is really going to reward you with that deed.

That’s all for now

Love you all for the Sake of Allah

ABD

6 thoughts on “FEAR ALLAH

  1. Assalamu’alaikum wr wb,
    Awesome blog, masha’Allah! To say I’m inspired by your work would be an understatement. I like how you piece together simple thoughts to form profound and coherent ideas.

    I remember reading this in a book by some scholar that if your iman isn’t increasing, it definitely is decreasing. I can’t recall his name but I know he was someone reputable. Insha’Allah I’ll try looking it up.

    This makes perfect sense: “I think that’s the challenge, to work to get the Fear of Allah from our Minds to our Hearts.”

    And, I absolutely loved this!: “If we don’t fear Allah, we will end up fearing almost everything else, but when we Fear Allah, we realize there is nothing left to Fear.”

    Jazak Allahu khayran. May Allah (‘azza wa jal) strengthen your iman, increase you in beneficial knowledge and bless you with the ability to share it with others, Ameen. And I pray that you have a very productive and blessed Ramadan 🙂

    • Amen. I’m glad you were inspired.Thank you very much for commenting, and the compliments…All good comes from Allah. 🙂 …I also pray that you have a very productive and blessed Ramadan, and May Allah Strengthen your iman.

      • Like I promised in my previous comment, I tried searching for the scholar’s name but somehow I just can’t seem to find it anywhere. So I take that back. Simply because I’m not sure about the authenticity of that statement and I shouldn’t have said it in the first place. Sorry, I goofed up. But what I know for sure is that faith increases by acts of obedience and decreases by acts of disobedience. Here’s a beautiful hadith,

        The Messenger of Allah (pbuh) said, “Faith has sixty odd or seventy odd branches. The uppermost of all these is the Testimony of Faith: ‘La ilaha illallah’ (there is no true God except Allah) while the least of them is the removal of a harmful object from the road. And shyness is a branch of Faith.” (Al Bukhari and Muslim)

        And, a beautiful verse,
        “Those who fear Allah, when a thought of evil from Satan assaults them, bring Allah to remembrance, when lo! they see (aright)!” (Surah al- A’raf 7:201)

        Thank you for the beautiful duas!

Leave your thoughts

