WHAT HAVE WE LEARNT?

346260AEBBB3E1F585E75D96C154F_h296_w526_m2_bblack_q99_p99_cWsQpHovo

I have been thinking for the past few days what to write, been in somewhat of a writers block. For more reasons than one, but I believe simplicity is always the best way to go. I might have been trying to think of something profound and meaningful but I realized everything about life is profound and meaningful.

  So I asked myself what have I learnt so far about this profound and meaningful life… curious question. For me this is more of an IQ test than a philosophical question up for a late night debate with friends. Simply because I believe smart people are the ones who adapt fast and improvise faster, the ones that can learn quickly and apply what they have learnt.

We should ask ourselves

What have we learnt about ourselves?

What have we learnt about our work?

What have we learnt about our studies?

What have we learnt about life?

What have we learnt about friends and family?

 Life…its really all a learning process… I am curious by design so I try to find ways to shorten my learning curve. The one I have found to be quite effective is just to sit and observe. Listen and not to speak of what we have learnt as if it is facts or Revelation (No, you didn’t see Jibril, you might be high on ego though) always give room for correction, adjustment and value added knowledge.

  This way, I think the best way to present our argument with anyone is to start with “what I have learnt so far about this…yadi yadi yada…”

Because that is actually the truth of the situation. Whatever we deem to be reality, we were taught this reality, we learnt it, but some where down along the line we started believing it to be the only reality. Maybe due to experience and our experiences seem to make things so real to us that we deny other people’s experiences that seem so real to them (a communication problem).

Which reminds me of a hadith;

“Abu Umamah reported: The Messenger of Allah, peace and blessings be upon him, said, “I guarantee a house on the outskirts of Paradise for one who abandons arguments even if he is right, and a house in the middle of Paradise for one who abandons lies even when joking, and a house in the highest part of Paradise for one who makes his character excellent.”

Source: Sunan Abu Dawud 4800

I wont go into the depth of the wisdom in that hadith because it might be bottomless, but if you really think about it, it can solve world hunger, cure diseases, mend broken homes and stop wars, to mention but a few.

Truth is our growth, be it spiritual growth, mental or physical is potentially limitless as long as we are willing to learn. Willing to listen, willing to be humble and patient, and most of all willing to be corrected.

So to conclude this… what have you learnt in life so far?

Write it down… start with what you learnt about yourself, it’s easier that way.

Love you all for the sake of Allah.

ABD.

PS: Sorry for the long pause there… about a month I think. I will try my best not to let it happen again. 🙂

9 thoughts on “WHAT HAVE WE LEARNT?

  1. I think when someone asks themselves anything, attitude should be considered. What I learned about myself can either be positive or negative. I don’t know if that makes any sense. Experience has a lot to do with attitude too. 🙂

  2. When I was in high school, I was tutoring a third grader. He was sitting in the back of the class with his back to the teacher. He was in time-out. I know they still do that in third grade. But, anyways, I asked him why he was sitting there, he shrugged. Then I tried to avoid asking questions that would make him feel like I was intruding. So I asked him what he wanted to be. He told me he wanted to be a bum. He wanted to burn the school down. He was angry with everyone. So I asked him why. He told me that he hated life. He was a muslim by the way. That’s how it went down for about a few weeks. I got to know a few things about him. He was a genius, but chose not to show it to his teacher. He had a sweet character that he failed to hide in front of me. He pulled a seat for me to sit but still scowled at me a few times a day, at my jokes. He loved wrestling. He loved his family. He spoke about how he can beat his brothers but no one else could touch them, or else. Haha. They were all younger than him. A week later I met his little brother when we collided classes with 2nd graders. His brother was super smart, but he didn’t want to burn the school down. And he wanted a future. His caring character was shared with everyone. As long as they didn’t mess with them. So the little third grader didn’t want me talking to his little brother–I still don’t know why– so I asked his little brother why his older brother was negative all the time. He told me something that broke my heart. So even tho I can’t say, “Long story short,” his negative due to his experiences at home. So that’s what I meant by saying, “I was speaking about the vice versa.” Sorry for the long story. I just want to explain better. I’m not good at explaining. I get off-topic often. 🙂 idk if you got it when u said probably. So I blabbed. Heh.

Leave your thoughts

