YOU CAN BE BETTER THAN YOU ARE RIGHT NOW…

better1

Asalaam Aleykum Brothers and sisters,

First off, My apologies for keeping you waiting for so long… it’s a long story. Forgive me 🙂

   This time around I thought I should share one of my personal policies (Rare occasion), but I have been away for so long I have no choice, I owe you that much at least  🙂

The policy is simple ; “I always believe I can be better, faster and stronger in anything I decide to set my mind on. I can be better faith wise (spiritually) , Knowledge (mentally) , staying fit and healthy (physically), relationships with people, being kinder, more gentle, better at business, work, basketball, football, swimming the list goes on… but you get the point. In my mind it is not even up for discussion, whether or not I can be better at whatever I want, it’s a simple matter of decision, prayer and Tawakul (Trust in Allah)…sorry did I forget to mention hardwork? it scares people sometimes, but yea its there.

   I have a couple of role models I look up to in different departments of life, I believe it is good to have role models just to get a general direction of where you want to go. But inshaa Allah I will surpass even those role models I look up to now, save the Prophet (S.A.W) and the Sahabas ( His Companions).

 That’s where I set my bar, get better or die trying… and keep going, yes sometimes we fall, but the resolve to keep moving forward never changes.

If I die trying, so be it, I will have no regrets. Why limit myself?

This personal policy is my drive. In short it’s about being a Strong Muslim and then getting stronger.

PS: A strong man stands up for himself, but a stronger man stands up for others. (Act like you know)

 Abu Huraira reported Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) as saying: ”A strong believer is better and is more lovable to Allah than a weak believer, and there is good in everyone, (but) cherish that which gives you benefit (in the Hereafter) and seek help from Allah and do not lose heart, and if anything (in the form of trouble) comes to you, don’t say: If I had not done that, it would not have happened so and so, but say: Allah did that what He had ordained to do and your” if” opens the (gate) for the Satan.”

   Sometimes we might feel like we are stuck, trapped in an endless cycle (routine) and it gets tiring, like life is slowly but surely being sucked out of us. This could lead to foreign states such as “boredom” <<< I fail to understand how people get there, I mean, when one is bored, have they memorized the whole Quran? Then understood the tafseer, are financially independent, have achieved all their dreams and are now waiting to die? I mean logically if they didn’t get there yet, how are they bored???

    I digress, back to the point, so in this situation we should ask ourselves “is this it? Is this all I can be? More importantly is this all I want to be?”  No? Then change it, what’s stopping me? Is there something better to do? Or is it distractions for the idle citizens…latest episodes?, movies?, too much socializing?

At this point it’s important we remember what the Prophet (S.A.W) said in the following hadith:

The Prophet (saw) advised to: “Take benefit of five before five: Your youth before your old age, your health before your sickness, your wealth before your poverty, your free time before you are preoccupied, and your life before your death
(Narrated by Ibn Abbas and reported by Al Hakim)

If I was asked why I wake up each morning, why even get out of bed?, this would be my answer.  Because I honestly believe it is the only reason Allah would let us wake up again, if we had reached our limit, then we would simply die.

 As long as we are alive we can always get better, if we were in sin, we may repent. If we are doing good, then do better. Why else would Allah keep waking us up, if we aren’t going anywhere anymore? So today let it be a fresh new page. Drop everything you were carrying from your past, just let it go and start afresh. All that counts is what you do now and moving forward. Feels good doesn’t it?

 Many of us want fresh starts so we can do better and we fail to realize Allah is giving us one EACH and EVERYDAY, but we are the ones that keep clinging to our past. I know letting go is a lot easier said than done, but truth be told it has to be done sometime. Don’t you think?

 So Stay Strong Brothers and Sisters.

I love you all for the sake of Allah.

–  ABD

8 thoughts on “YOU CAN BE BETTER THAN YOU ARE RIGHT NOW…

  1. Pingback: Choices |

Leave your thoughts

