RELATIONSHIP WITH ALLAH – PART ONE

quotes-about-islam-20

Asalaam Aleykum Brothers and Sisters,

I have been working on this for a while now, it’s something I’m still working on getting to understand myself. I have decided to let you know what I got so far.

  First things first, as far as relationships go, our relationship with Allah is the first relationship we ever had, even before the relationship with our mothers. It gets better though, our relationship with Allah is also the most intimate and personalized relationship we have and will ever have. It is the relationship with the ONE who created you, the ONE who knows you more than you know yourself, the ONE who loves you more than you love yourself.

Though we being humans forget all this from time to time, we take this sacred relationship for granted. We forget that like any other relationship it has to be nurtured and taken care of through conscious effort.

How? You ask…well I’m glad you did; in the Quran Allah says,

 Surah Al-Imran 3:31

“Say, [O Muhammad], “If you should love Allah , then follow me, [so] Allah will love you and forgive you your sins. And Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.”

Simply put, follow the Prophet’s (PBUH) Sunnah.

and

Surah Al-Imran  3 :134 

“Who spend [in the cause of Allah ] during ease and hardship and who restrain anger and who pardon the people – and Allah loves the doers of good”

Allah states in the Quran the kind of people HE loves, using their behavioral traits. Traits we can all work on to make them permanent fixtures in our personalities so that Allah may love us.

Again just to emphasize on how personal this relationship is with Allah, in the Quran Allah says:

Surah Al-Mumtahanah 60:3

“On the Day of Resurrection neither your blood-kindred nor your own offspring will avail you.3 (On that Day) He will separate you.4 Allah sees all that you do.”

Surah Al-Ma`arij

“(70:11) although they shall be within sight of one another.11 The guilty one would fain ransom himself from the torment of that Day by offering his children, (70:12) and his spouse and his brother, (70:13) and his kinsfolk who had stood by him, (70:14) and all persons of the earth, if only he could thus save himself.”

Surah `Abasa

“(80:34) on the Day when each man shall flee from his brother, (80:35) and his mother and his father; (80:36) and his consort and his children; (80:37) on that Day each will be occupied with his own business, making him oblivious of all save himself.”

People can tell you how things are “supposed” to happen, but at the end of the day what goes on is just between you and Allah.

It’s a relationship we should constantly work on and it is totally worth it, it is more than worth it and what does Allah say about those who love HIM?

 “Whosoever shows enmity to someone devoted to Me, I shall be at war with him. My servant draws not near to Me with nothing more loved by Me than the religious duties I have enjoined upon him, and My servant continues to draw near to Me with supererogatory works so that I shall love him. When I love him I am his hearing with which he hears, his seeing with which he sees, his hand with which he strikes and his foot with which he walks. Were he to ask [something] of Me, I would surely give it to him, and were he to ask Me for refuge, I would surely grant him it. I do not hesitate about anything as much as I hesitate about seizing the soul of My faithful servant: he hates death and I hate hurting him.” [Sahih Bukhari, Book 76, Number 509]

 Imagine that Allah the Creator, the GREATEST, says HE hesitates to take the soul of HIS faithful servant because Allah HATES to hurt HIM/HER. I mean can you imagine that? If you are a faithful servant doesn’t Allah know that you dying means you will go to Paradise??? A place a million times better than this life yet just that transitory pain of death, Allah hesitates to take the soul of his faithful servant. JUST IMAGINE.

Hadith Qudsi 15: 

On the authority of Abu Harayrah (may Allah be pleased with him), who said that the Prophet (PBUH) said: Allah the Almighty said:

I am as My servant thinks I am (1). I am with him when he makes mention of Me. If he makes mention of Me to himself, I make mention of him to Myself; and if he makes mention of Me in an assembly, I make mention of him in an assemble better than it. And if he draws near to Me an arm’s length, I draw near to him a fathom’s length. And if he comes to Me walking, I go to him at speed.

(1) Another possible rendering of the Arabic is: “I am as My servant expects Me to be”. The meaning is that forgiveness and acceptance of repentance by the Almighty is subject to His servant truly believing that He is forgiving and merciful. However, not to accompany such belief with right action would be to mock the Almighty.

It was related by al-Buhkari (also by Muslim, at-Tirmidhi and Ibn-Majah).

Just to put this in perspective, imagine if the one you love told you that if you walked towards them they will run to you. HOW LOVED would you feel???

That whatever form of love you showed them, they promise to show you more and they always do. Now, remember this isn’t an imagination anymore, it is a reality and it’s not love from a human, a mortal, it is From ALLAH Azza wa jal, The Most POWERFUL, The Most Kind, The Most Loving, The Creator  of Heaven and Earth.

Let’s just think about that for a while and let it sink in. It’s hard for our hearts and minds to comprehend all this that easily and to think how much we have taken Allah’s love and relationship with us for granted. May Allah forgive us and not hold us accountable for our past sins.

I love you all for the sake of Allah

-ABD

Leave your thoughts

