HAPPINESS!..YAAAAYYY..

241982_10150913198247337_1943600863_o

I think I cracked it this time, it’s been a long time coming but I believe I got it now.

Before I say anything, I want to ask you a question first, think about it and answer it honestly.

Are you happy?

If you had asked me this question in the past, most of the time I would have probably told you No or I would have said “yes, BUT…” and its not like I was physically sick on anything, but I realize now I was spiritually sick.

It bothered me why this was the case and I concluded there were two things I wanted in life that I was sure would make me happy (No, I am not going to tell you what they are, and No, I haven’t gotten them yet, still praying) haha 🙂

I am very Happy that I have reached this conclusion before I got them because if I had gotten them in my previous state, eventually I would have been unhappy again. Why? Because the times when I would answer that yes I am Happy would be short periods just after I got something I had prayed for or wanted.

   When I look back now I realize what truly made me happy at all those times didn’t just come from the thing I got but came even more from the gratitude I had when I got it, as soon as I started to take it for granted. My happiness ceased. So I would look for the next thing to ask for to get that feeling of happiness.

  I had wrongly associated the feeling of happiness with just getting things instead of having gratitude for them. Being grateful is what makes us happy not necessarily the things we get.

WARNING!! : This does not mean you should not ask for Things from Allah. Keep asking,

“There is nothing more dear to Allah Ta’ala than a servant making dua to him.”

[at Tirmidhi]

But what is actually even more interesting is, we are all “Happiness Junkies”, everything we do and ask for, what we really want from them is for them to make us happy, to get that emotional high.

Now the BILLION Dollar question remains, Why don’t we just ask Allah to make us Happy? By making us grateful and content.

   Being Happy doesn’t mean we don’t have problems and it doesn’t mean we aren’t struggling in life. It just means that we can look past our current problems and still have hope in Allah’s Mercy and we can still see the good that we have been blessed with, and to be grateful to Allah for it.

   I know for most of you this is just a reminder and nothing new, you already knew this intuitively probably. Well I’ll admit I’m a late bloomer, I joined the party late but don’t feel sorry for me, I am fast learner.

 I thank Allah for giving me the insight and inspiration to see this now.

Let me know what you think in the comment section.

Yours Truly

-ABD

5 thoughts on “HAPPINESS!..YAAAAYYY..

  1. Happiness. You just gave me a topic for a new poem. I might not be good at poetry, but I try.
    When I think of happiness, I don’t know why, but white clouds and the sun start clouding my mine. strange. I really don’t know if I would still be praying if I was promised heaven, but I would be soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo grateful. I think my appetite for dunya would just disappear. Happiness=Family. That’s how I see it. JazakAllah Khair! keep it up.

Leave your thoughts

